Review–Rest n Roll Multipurpose Cart

I have pretty much always been a heavy packer–been teased by my family about it pretty much since I can remember.  I was never a girl scout, but I have always embraced the “be prepared” motto–maybe even a little too much.  And after having kids, my over-packing habit increased ten-fold.

When the kids were young enough to be in strollers, this was not too much of a problem.  It is surprising how much you can pack into a good-sized stroller when motivated.  However, as children do, they grew up and are too big now to be pushed by mom.  However, my desire to keep a bag full of “in case” essentials on me when out and about has not really diminished.

Then, enter Dysautonomia.  Dysautonomia pretty much DEMANDS that you be ready for the unpredictable.  As I explained in my Mobile Dysautonomia Bag post, I have a small-ish bag full of “in case” supplies in my purse at pretty much all times.  However, that bag, on top of all the other mom-bag stuff, makes my purse a contender for the heavyweight champion of the world.  It is not too much of a problem when going to the store–purse immediately gets dumped into the shopping cart.  However, a day in the park, zoo, or any other place where I will be more than be a few steps from my emergency way-station (aka, my car) requires some extra planning.

Besides needing to keep my crazy heavy purse on my person (and the hubby so hates when I ask him to carry it), I need extra powerade/water, sunscreen, bug spray, extra snacks for the kids, my mini travel seat, etc. etc. etc.  Basically,  I need a smaller version of the trunk of my car.

Enter, the Roll n Rest Multipurpose cart.  It is a metal frame cart with attached nylon/canvas bag.  The bag has a large main compartment and a smaller front pocket that is lined in cooler-type material, presumably to keep cold stuff cold.  It has mesh pocket on each side as well as a long attached sleeve for holding the included sun umbrella (not on all models).

On the back side, it has a fold down seat.  The seat is plastic, not fabric, and has a rather generous seating area for what it is.  The handle is adjustable to two heights, and has a padded handhold.  Inside the main compartment is a snap on/off bag and two small pockets on the back of the bag.  The bag is removable for washing, though this is not the easiest task.

I was quite excited when I first saw this product–it seemed to fit several areas of need for me; the ability to cart along a bunch of stuff while also always having a seat with me.  The reviews were generally positive, but some mentioned issues with wheels coming off.

First thing I noticed after arriving is that it is heavy.  If you have issues with lifting or muscle weakness, you will likely have a problem with this cart.  It is clearly made of a solid metal, but that also adds weight.  While, in general, lifting too much weight wears me out, the quick lifting required to get this in and out of the car is not a deal breaker for me.  But it is something to be aware of.

The main compartment is decently sized, even if I could deal with it being a big bigger (this is probably mostly me and my crazy over-packing).  However, since it is a tall and skinny compartment, sometimes creative packing is required.  In addition, if you need something at the bottom, you are going to have to stop and take a bunch of stuff out to reach it.

I have never really used the front cooler pocket for keeping anything cold.  Honestly, it just does not seem sturdy enough for that.  Unless the main compartment is pretty full, loading up the front pocket tends to make the whole bag either lean in or lean out.  I mainly use the front pocket to keep smaller things (keys, phone, sunscreen, etc.) readily accessible and keep a cooler in the main compartment.

The version I got came with a  sun umbrella that can click on to either side near the top of the handle.  This is another feature that I have not tried yet (had this over a year now).  The main reason I have not tried it, however, is that the pocket that is supposed to hold the umbrella ripped in the first few weeks of owning it.  I cannot say the ripping is entirely on the product, but I would say that–in my opinion–a design flaw led to the issue.  The umbrella, when in the designated pocket, sticks out so far past the end of the bag, it just kept getting caught everything as I would take it in and out of the trunk.  Finally, it caught one too many times and tore.  Ever since then, I no longer store the umbrella with the bag (despite safety pinning the torn part of the pocket).  This usually means that I forget to grab it when heading out, so using the umbrella is not an option.  It is a nice thought, having a sun umbrella, but I just have not really had a chance to make it work.

I could use the handle being a bit higher.  Even on the highest setting, it still feels a bit low for my liking.  However, as not far off 6 ft. tall, I am taller than your average dysautonomiac (or woman).  That said, it is not low enough to be uncomfortable when I use it–just would prefer a bit taller.  If you are much taller than 6 ft, though, it could be an issue.

Only once have I ever encountered the wheel issue some reviews spoke of.  There is some type of clip that appears to help attach the wheel.  I never really figured out what to do with these clips, or how they helped.  But after the first lost wheel incidence, I apparently did something correctly with them as it has not happened since.

The cart can be kind of heavy when wheeling it around.  Not nearly as bad as carrying all the stuff, but enough that I notice the difference–often with a somewhat elevated heart rate in response.  Usually I will ask my husband to roll it when possible.  It is hard to tell how much of the weight is related to the cart itself and how much is the stuff I pack.  I pretty much always load it up, often adding extra bags to hang off the top.  I have never rolled it around as just the cart–if I only need to keep a seat with me I take my tri-folding stool.  However, the cart seat is much more comfortable than the tri-fold stool.

Despite some of its problems, I find taking the cart is worth it to me.  Even when I have to pull it myself.  If I am willing to go out and about, more than likely I am already having a good day.  Many times the extra supplies I bring are not really necessary.  But it makes me feel better knowing I have them if I need them.  And being the mom that remembered snacks and drinks always makes you popular.  The seat is surprisingly comfortable, as least as far as portable seats go.  And it appears to be a sturdy seat, as I am not exactly small but have had no issues.  The seat folds up and down in seconds and has a sturdy snap to keep it in place.

I do get glances from others when out and about but I can never tell if they are thinking “what weirdo uses a cart” or “wish I would have thought to bring one”.  In my (rural) area, everybody depends on cars so seeing someone walking about with a cart if not very common.  It is entirely possible in a larger city with lots of walking and mass transit it would not stick out at all.  However, for me, it is a much less self-confidence denting way to keep a seat with me than using a walker or cane.  Someone my age with either a walker or cane always attracts unwanted attention.

Overall, for me, this product has been helpful.  But I can see how it might not be for everyone.  The weight could be a serious issue for many.  I needed the extra weight-carrying capacity of the heavy metal frame.  However, I believe there are less “heavy duty” versions out there if you are a lighter packer (and smaller person) than me.

I originally got Rest-n-Roll Multipurpose Cart on ebay, but the seller I bought it from is no longer in business.  I believe that this store is the only one currently selling it.  QVC has had it off and on over time, but it currently out of stock there as well.

Rest-n-Roll Multipurpose Cart, 29.95 + Shipping at http://qualityhomeproducts.net/product/rest-n-roll/

One thought on “Review–Rest n Roll Multipurpose Cart

  1. […] When folded it is quite a bit smaller than other chairs I have owned, but I would not say it was the size of a newspaper like it boasts in the description.  I would guess about 2 feet or slightly under in length when folded.  The circumference is pretty compact when folded as well–a reviewer on Amazon put it as 7 inches and that sounds about right.  It has a velcro strap for keeping it folded and an adjustable strap for carrying (or slinging on to my Rest-n-Roll cart). […]

Leave a comment