Review: Vital ID Medical Alert Bracelet

This is the first of many posts I intend to dedicate to reviewing products/services/medications/etc. that have I have tried to assist me in dealing with dysautonomia.  I have not received any compensation for my opinions.  My only hope is that people are able to use my reviews to determine if something may or may not be able to help them.

VITAL ID MEDICAL ALERT BRACELET

One of my favorite medical alert bracelets I have tried is my Vital ID Med Alert Bracelet.  It is unlike most traditional medical bracelets–it has no metal, and there is no engraving.  It is made of woven textile and Velcro, which makes it easier to put on and take off.  It feels like nylon, but that is just a guess.

100_1628

Instead of engraving, it comes with a thick paper insert that can be written on. It fits inside a small enveloped area on the inside of the bracelet, which can be accessed by pulling the bracelet off the wrist.

100_1634

It has room for putting your name, diagnosis, medication, and 2 emergency contact numbers on the front.  The back is blank, and leaves plenty of room to add more information.  You can order more if your medications change often.  Be sure to use a permanent marker (I suggest fine tip) to write in your information so it does not smear when folded.

100_1643

It is definite a more “sporty” look—no one is going to mistake it for jewelry.  There are both child and adult sizes with multiple colors in each size (there are probably more fun colors available in the child size, but my wrist is too thick).

100_1637

Make sure to measure your wrist to find out which size is best for you.  I would not suggest getting one that is too tight.  I have not had any problems with the bracelet annoying the skin around my wrist, but I could see a problem if it was so tight to cut off air circulation—the fabric does not strike me as the most breathable.

100_1632

I have washed it several times, though never in the washing machine.  Just a hand wash and air dry, but this was always adequate to deal with any dirt, stains, sweat, etc.  Obviously, take the paper insert out.  I have gotten the bracelet wet a few times–such as when washing hands–but have not had too much trouble with it warping the paper.  This is splash up, though, not soaking it.  I think you would have to get it pretty wet before it started warping the paper or blurring the ink.  Even so, I take it off when doing the dishes, giving the kids a bath, etc.

100_1648

I enjoy that it is a more casual look, and the ease of taking it off and putting it on is very helpful with all the chores I do around the house.  I don’t really worry if it gets sweaty or messy, and it does not bounce around or move too much on my wrist.  I would love it if they expanded into some of the fun kid colors into the adult sizes.  Most importantly, I enjoy being able to easily add/change any drug or doctor changes, which is pretty frequently.

100_1631

Overall, I like it and would recommend.

Vital ID Medical ID Bracelet, $16.95 at https://www.vitalid.com/shop/medical-id-bracelet/ and other online retailers.

2 thoughts on “Review: Vital ID Medical Alert Bracelet

  1. […] list of medications was important.  My first stab at a solution for this was the Vital ID medical bracelet.  The paper insert allowed me space and flexibility to write (most) everything I wanted, and it […]

Leave a comment